I Use This!
High Activity

Ratings and Reviews

Analyzed 7 days ago. based on code collected 14 days ago.
Community Rating
4.53211
   

Average Rating:   4.5/5.0
Number of Ratings:   2071
Number of Reviews:   8

My Review of Apache HTTP Server

You have not rated or reviewed this project.
Click below to rate/review.
My Rating:
0
 
 New Review

Most Helpful Reviews

Eliot Lash says:
7e775b0ec0c18f8b6bb5c46c8278d5df?&s=58&rating=pg&d=http%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
Goes without saying: Best of breed  
5.0
 
written almost 10 years ago

I've been running Apache HTTPD for seven years and it hasn't let me down yet. I am continually impressed at how configurable and stable it is. This goes without saying, as it is the de facto standard.

10 out of 13 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you? |

jmparks says:
Aa8363a580d487256c645fc49b6b5c15?&s=58&rating=pg&d=http%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
Love of my life.  
5.0
 
written over 9 years ago

Being a sys-admin and web-developer I have a profound respect for this beautiful project.

I've experienced uptimes of over 7 years with Apache based servers - and never had a problem I haven't caused.

The Apache HTTP Server is arguably at the top of its class - Thank you.

7 out of 9 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you? |

Hargobin... says:
Dc1bfb429fb24582e9ccec1fbf4138c6?&s=58&rating=pg&d=http%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
De Facto Standard  
4.0
   
written about 9 years ago

Apache is the industry standard. As such it commands a high degree of respect. The biggest asset that apache has is that you can trust it. You can trust that development isn't going to stop tomorrow. You can trust that it's still going to be around in a few years. You know that you can get support. You don't have to worry about the software being abandoned a few weeks after completing a project that depends on on.

For some these are very important reasons to pick apache. On the other had there are several newer http servers out there that are less bloated, quicker on their feet, and still provide all the features most users will want. So if you want a server that you can depend upon not only from a technical perspective but also from a social perspective, apache may be exactly what you need, but if what you want is something a little lighter and easier to completely wrap your head around then projects such as lighttpd or nginx might be worth a look.

3 out of 4 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you? |

ThilaUma... says:
D27aeb761654b44ac619a3b42c5a7aaf?&s=58&rating=pg&d=http%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
Very Good  
0.0
 
written about 6 years ago

Very Good

Did this review help you? |

Larry Gi... says:
2c5e57a455c12b4dcd500e241cc00fd5?&s=58&rating=pg&d=http%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
Even if you think you don't use ...  
4.0
   
written over 4 years ago

It's big, it's bloated, but so much of the Web depends on it that it would leave a gigantic vacuum were it to disappear.

Did this review help you? |

Most Recent Reviews

Valentinas says:
0cd7ae192e6bf0fbdb1a999fc59b2e82?&s=58&rating=pg&d=http%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
5 star  
5.0
 
written over 3 years ago

5 star Server!

Did this review help you? |

qcd_price says:
C51ee114a0a03985ddf8b0297cb05242?&s=58&rating=pg&d=http%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
Where would we be without it?  
5.0
 
written about 4 years ago

We use this for our web presence. Not a lot more to say - reviewing this is like reviewing oxygen. Hoping that the developers keep up the good work.

Did this review help you? |

Larry Gi... says:
2c5e57a455c12b4dcd500e241cc00fd5?&s=58&rating=pg&d=http%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
Even if you think you don't use ...  
4.0
   
written over 4 years ago

It's big, it's bloated, but so much of the Web depends on it that it would leave a gigantic vacuum were it to disappear.

Did this review help you? |

ThilaUma... says:
D27aeb761654b44ac619a3b42c5a7aaf?&s=58&rating=pg&d=http%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
Very Good  
0.0
 
written about 6 years ago

Very Good

Did this review help you? |

crazybot says:
A81e61e518f92b3547a077db4887ba9c?&s=58&rating=pg&d=http%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
The best  
0.0
 
written almost 9 years ago

I've been using apache for years. I've also used many different web servers. (I'm a little obsessed with trying out new software.) Apache is by far the best, fastest, most configurable web server I have ever used. If you need it to do something it doesn't already do, just go ahead and write a module for it.

0 out of 1 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you? |

 See all reviews