Activity Not Available

Ratings and Reviews

  Analyzed 4 months ago based on code collected 4 months ago.
Community Rating
4.19727
   

Average Rating:   4.2/5.0
Number of Ratings:   1024
Number of Reviews:   7

My Review of GIMP

You have not rated or reviewed this project.
Click below to rate/review.
0
 
New Review

Most Helpful Reviews

shakyone says:
06bbd1d6e8952385721a4930c15ba8d5?&s=48&rating=pg&d=https%3a%2f%2fwww
 
GIMP Lover  
5
 
written almost 8 years ago

(Updated 13MAY09)

I love digital photography, and I really like being able to do some advanced functions with digital images. I highly recommend GIMP to anyone willing to put a little effort into learning photo editing. If you are not willing to learn, stick to Google Picasa or even better, Microsoft Live Photo Gallery. GIMP is not dumbed down for the novice photographer that wants to be a hacker at photo editing. You do have to do some homework to learn how to use it. Once you learn a few of the basics, it really starts to become a pleasure to use.

I mainly take pictures of my children, and when I get a good picture that I decide to print I like to clean it up for the large print format. I hate having some piece of food on their face, or a slightly off-color image. I felt cloning was a basic digital photo editing function, and hardly any basic photo editors have it as an available function. This still holds true today.

When I originally got into digital photography I had some evil software called Microsoft PictureIt!. It was a recent acquisition by MS, and a horrible product. I finally gave up. I was open to something better, however I was not in the mood to drop more cash on software that may or may not work out. An IT guy at work mentioned trying GIMP. He knew of it, though he didn't use it himself. Around 2003, I installed GIMP 2.01 on my PC, and abruptly got frustrated by the advanced interface. I gave it up for a month. I searched the web a little for tutorials, and I was rewarded. I finally linked to the GIMP basics tutorials from the www.gimp.org website, and I was rolling.

The GIMP website hosts most of those tutorials, and it links to more tutorials, to learn the basics of resizing, cropping, and cloning. Once these were mastered, I was ready to expand my skill set with more advanced functions. After some more time learning and doing, I read through the GIMP user Manual. I downloaded the PDF and I was impressed at how much of a well written document it is for the GIMP user. I found the software another increment more usable after that.

I bought a copy of Akkana Peck's GIMP book in 2008. It has brought me to my present day skill level. If you need a good book to get smarter on photo editing in general, and especially with the power of the GIMP, I recommend her most recent revision of the same book, ¨Beginning GIMP by Akkana Peck.¨ Edition 2 came out in January, it includes version GIMP 2.6. (http://www.amazon.com/Beginning-GIMP-Novice-Professional-Second/dp/1430210702/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1242267208&sr=8-1) It really unleashes the power of graphics editing with GIMP. Current GIMP learning books are few and far between. Her book really opened my eyes to what I could do with it. It addresses all levels of photo editing with GIMP, basic, intermediate and advanced.

Now I have learned most everything I wanted to get from photo editing, and I hardly scratch the surface of capabilities in the GIMP. Yet I continue to learn more, just to keep sharp and further improve my obsession. There is never a shortage of tutorials available from other users. I have enjoyed the images I created with it. My wife is extremely happy with how our pictures around the house look. I proved my ability enough to justify the move to the Digital SLR and the GIMP keeps up with the new gear just fine.

GIMP 2.6 has been out for a while now. It is stable, and fully functional.

GIMP 2.6 upgraded to 32-bit color depth. This was one of few features holding it back in 2007-2008 versus other software. The latest cameras use 14-bit color, and previously GIMP was only 8-bit.

Also, if you do not administrator rights on your computer, download the portable version from www.portableapps.com. You can install most plug-ins to this one as well. Not to mention you can run it from either a USB drive, or a folder in "My Documents." Enjoy.

5 out of 5 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you?

Ivan Vučica says:
9dd37fe19111e25842a4fd0aea245d1a?&s=48&rating=pg&d=https%3a%2f%2fwww
 
@welloiledpc: gfdl violation?  
4
   
written almost 6 years ago

Just noting that PDF produced by WellOiledPC is possibly a GFDL violation:

https://www.ohloh.net/topics/3602?page=1#post_10844

Also, non-downloadable _work in progress_ version of the manual is free:

http://docs.gimp.org/2.6/en/

Older (2.2 and 2.4) manuals are also downloadable PDFs.

--------------
In other news, GIMP is an excellent piece of software, especially for software developers or for-computer artists. From what I hear from for-print artists, it's not suitable for finalizing for print.

But when you take its price into account, as well as its excellent suitability for any advanced for-computer image manipulation, then you see you can't go better than this. After all:
benefit / price = benefit / 0 = +infinity

2 out of 2 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you?

...Heittman says:
7c18713c02e0eb1af379a381535ca305?&s=48&rating=pg&d=https%3a%2f%2fwww
 
GIMP is great for novices  
4
   
written over 7 years ago

I've been spreading the gospel of GIMP for years to novice website owners/updaters. GIMP is easy to obtain (providing your IT people don't block you!) and even easier to use. It contains the basics that are needed for quick and dirty image editing (resizing, cropping) for the web, and will keep an advanced user happy, too. GIMP is definitely a great complement to content management software, empowering anyone on a budget to be a more effective website manager.

1 out of 2 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you?

szg says:
Def1b1fd4342d9e332b7a3bf41f57a00?&s=48&rating=pg&d=https%3a%2f%2fwww
 
Don't be scared!  
5
 
written over 4 years ago

Let's face it. The Gimp's GUI is scary for beginners. But with a little commitment and lots of RTFM you'll soon realize that the Gimp is probably the best image editing software there has ever been.
I learned quickly to dock the various toolbars to the right places, so now even my Gimp windows are manageable.
As to picture editing, it's just incredible. Just think about Colors/Curves.../Freehand.

Did this review help you?

bendeton77 says:
C67fe842ddd99c63026f7f6b045e0842?&s=48&rating=pg&d=https%3a%2f%2fwww
 
...very good alternative for photoshop  
4
   
written almost 2 years ago

Its not so good as photoshop but for many people its enough.

Did this review help you?

Most Recent Reviews

bendeton77 says:
C67fe842ddd99c63026f7f6b045e0842?&s=48&rating=pg&d=https%3a%2f%2fwww
 
...very good alternative for photoshop  
4
   
written almost 2 years ago

Its not so good as photoshop but for many people its enough.

Did this review help you?

szg says:
Def1b1fd4342d9e332b7a3bf41f57a00?&s=48&rating=pg&d=https%3a%2f%2fwww
 
Don't be scared!  
5
 
written over 4 years ago

Let's face it. The Gimp's GUI is scary for beginners. But with a little commitment and lots of RTFM you'll soon realize that the Gimp is probably the best image editing software there has ever been.
I learned quickly to dock the various toolbars to the right places, so now even my Gimp windows are manageable.
As to picture editing, it's just incredible. Just think about Colors/Curves.../Freehand.

Did this review help you?

kikloo says:
15544f37e0d147de8249b0fc18f76cb2?&s=48&rating=pg&d=https%3a%2f%2fwww
 
Very bad IDE  
3
   
written almost 5 years ago

Hello,

The GIMP ide is very bad. It does'nt have fixed windows and everything is messed up. But the software itself is very good and powerful.

I hope that the windows system is fixed soon so that we can dock the layers, tools toolbars/windows properly in a fixed place.

Thanks.

1 out of 5 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you?

Ivan Vučica says:
9dd37fe19111e25842a4fd0aea245d1a?&s=48&rating=pg&d=https%3a%2f%2fwww
 
@welloiledpc: gfdl violation?  
4
   
written almost 6 years ago

Just noting that PDF produced by WellOiledPC is possibly a GFDL violation:

https://www.ohloh.net/topics/3602?page=1#post_10844

Also, non-downloadable _work in progress_ version of the manual is free:

http://docs.gimp.org/2.6/en/

Older (2.2 and 2.4) manuals are also downloadable PDFs.

--------------
In other news, GIMP is an excellent piece of software, especially for software developers or for-computer artists. From what I hear from for-print artists, it's not suitable for finalizing for print.

But when you take its price into account, as well as its excellent suitability for any advanced for-computer image manipulation, then you see you can't go better than this. After all:
benefit / price = benefit / 0 = +infinity

2 out of 2 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you?

WellOiledPC says:
6ffe43e6fd513cf08908fdf24a07259d?&s=48&rating=pg&d=https%3a%2f%2fwww
 
Downloadable User Manual for GIMP 2.6  
0
 
written almost 6 years ago

GIMP is powerful, but to unleash its potential, you need a Manual that you can frequently refer to, until you absorb it's intricacies! We at WellOiledPC have compiled the first downloadable User Manual for GIMP 2.6. It comprises of over 950 pages in the final draft and occupies nearly 30 MB. While compiling the User Manual, we have faithfully adhered to the HTML version's structure and flow, though we have corrected a few Grammar and spelling mistakes...

We are pricing the downloadable, password-protected PDF version at an affordable US$ 9.95 and you may securely order your copy by visiting the link http://www.welloiledpc.com/images.htm. You will also be able to view the ToC as well as check out a sample Chapter (Chapter 5) on this page.

Once you make your payment, we will send you the link for the complete User Manual as well as it's password, within 24 working hours. Trust you are convinced of our authenticity!

0 out of 6 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you?

See all reviews