Activity Not Available
I Use This!

Ratings and Reviews

Analyzed about 1 month ago. based on code collected 3 months ago.
Community Rating
4.19358
   

Average Rating:   4.2/5.0
Number of Ratings:   997
Number of Reviews:   6

My Review of GIMP

You have not rated or reviewed this project.
Click below to rate/review.
My Rating:
0
 
 New Review

Most Helpful Reviews

Ivan Vučica says:
9dd37fe19111e25842a4fd0aea245d1a?&s=58&rating=pg&d=http%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
@welloiledpc: gfdl violation?  
4.0
   
written about 7 years ago

Just noting that PDF produced by WellOiledPC is possibly a GFDL violation:

https://www.ohloh.net/topics/3602?page=1#post_10844

Also, non-downloadable _work in progress_ version of the manual is free:

http://docs.gimp.org/2.6/en/

Older (2.2 and 2.4) manuals are also downloadable PDFs.

--------------
In other news, GIMP is an excellent piece of software, especially for software developers or for-computer artists. From what I hear from for-print artists, it's not suitable for finalizing for print.

But when you take its price into account, as well as its excellent suitability for any advanced for-computer image manipulation, then you see you can't go better than this. After all:
benefit / price = benefit / 0 = +infinity

2 out of 2 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you? |

Alison H... says:
7c18713c02e0eb1af379a381535ca305?&s=58&rating=pg&d=http%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
GIMP is great for novices  
4.0
   
written over 8 years ago

I've been spreading the gospel of GIMP for years to novice website owners/updaters. GIMP is easy to obtain (providing your IT people don't block you!) and even easier to use. It contains the basics that are needed for quick and dirty image editing (resizing, cropping) for the web, and will keep an advanced user happy, too. GIMP is definitely a great complement to content management software, empowering anyone on a budget to be a more effective website manager.

1 out of 2 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you? |

szg says:
Def1b1fd4342d9e332b7a3bf41f57a00?&s=58&rating=pg&d=http%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
Don't be scared!  
5.0
 
written almost 6 years ago

Let's face it. The Gimp's GUI is scary for beginners. But with a little commitment and lots of RTFM you'll soon realize that the Gimp is probably the best image editing software there has ever been.
I learned quickly to dock the various toolbars to the right places, so now even my Gimp windows are manageable.
As to picture editing, it's just incredible. Just think about Colors/Curves.../Freehand.

Did this review help you? |

bendeton77 says:
C67fe842ddd99c63026f7f6b045e0842?&s=58&rating=pg&d=http%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
This is very good alternative fo...  
4.0
   
written about 3 years ago

Its not so good as photoshop but for many people its enough.

Did this review help you? |

Most Recent Reviews

bendeton77 says:
C67fe842ddd99c63026f7f6b045e0842?&s=58&rating=pg&d=http%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
This is very good alternative fo...  
4.0
   
written about 3 years ago

Its not so good as photoshop but for many people its enough.

Did this review help you? |

szg says:
Def1b1fd4342d9e332b7a3bf41f57a00?&s=58&rating=pg&d=http%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
Don't be scared!  
5.0
 
written almost 6 years ago

Let's face it. The Gimp's GUI is scary for beginners. But with a little commitment and lots of RTFM you'll soon realize that the Gimp is probably the best image editing software there has ever been.
I learned quickly to dock the various toolbars to the right places, so now even my Gimp windows are manageable.
As to picture editing, it's just incredible. Just think about Colors/Curves.../Freehand.

Did this review help you? |

kikloo says:
15544f37e0d147de8249b0fc18f76cb2?&s=58&rating=pg&d=http%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
Very bad IDE  
3.0
   
written about 6 years ago

Hello,

The GIMP ide is very bad. It does'nt have fixed windows and everything is messed up. But the software itself is very good and powerful.

I hope that the windows system is fixed soon so that we can dock the layers, tools toolbars/windows properly in a fixed place.

Thanks.

1 out of 5 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you? |

Ivan Vučica says:
9dd37fe19111e25842a4fd0aea245d1a?&s=58&rating=pg&d=http%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
@welloiledpc: gfdl violation?  
4.0
   
written about 7 years ago

Just noting that PDF produced by WellOiledPC is possibly a GFDL violation:

https://www.ohloh.net/topics/3602?page=1#post_10844

Also, non-downloadable _work in progress_ version of the manual is free:

http://docs.gimp.org/2.6/en/

Older (2.2 and 2.4) manuals are also downloadable PDFs.

--------------
In other news, GIMP is an excellent piece of software, especially for software developers or for-computer artists. From what I hear from for-print artists, it's not suitable for finalizing for print.

But when you take its price into account, as well as its excellent suitability for any advanced for-computer image manipulation, then you see you can't go better than this. After all:
benefit / price = benefit / 0 = +infinity

2 out of 2 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you? |

WellOiledPC says:
6ffe43e6fd513cf08908fdf24a07259d?&s=58&rating=pg&d=http%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
Downloadable User Manual for GIM...  
0.0
 
written about 7 years ago

GIMP is powerful, but to unleash its potential, you need a Manual that you can frequently refer to, until you absorb it's intricacies! We at WellOiledPC have compiled the first downloadable User Manual for GIMP 2.6. It comprises of over 950 pages in the final draft and occupies nearly 30 MB. While compiling the User Manual, we have faithfully adhered to the HTML version's structure and flow, though we have corrected a few Grammar and spelling mistakes...

We are pricing the downloadable, password-protected PDF version at an affordable US$ 9.95 and you may securely order your copy by visiting the link http://www.welloiledpc.com/images.htm. You will also be able to view the ToC as well as check out a sample Chapter (Chapter 5) on this page.

Once you make your payment, we will send you the link for the complete User Manual as well as it's password, within 24 working hours. Trust you are convinced of our authenticity!

0 out of 6 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you? |

 See all reviews