Activity Not Available

Ratings and Reviews : Listing

  Analyzed about 1 month ago based on code collected about 1 month ago.
 
Showing page 1 of 1
...Waldmann says:
E1455665609ecaadf76a1ad795e0ea36?&s=48&rating=pg&d=https%3a%2f%2fwww
 
Best DVCS yet.  
5
 
written about 8 years ago

After having used CVS and GNU arch (tla) before, we switched to Mercurial about a year ago for MoinMoin development.

As well as tla has been a big step forward compared to CVS, Mercurial is another big step forward from tla.

We don't regret it, Mercurial works great:
* we never had serious trouble with it, we never lost data
* it is FAST (much faster than GNU arch)
* the commands are easy to remember and have sane defaults, so you get used to it fast
* it is well-designed
* it uses your disk space efficiently
* it doesn't need a central server, you can use version control on the road without internet connection
* it runs on Linux, Mac, Windows, ...
* it has a nice web interface built-in (you don't even need a separate web server)
* you can read its code (it is mostly Python! CLEAN python code, with a bit of C for better performance.)
* it has very few dependencies (well, it needs Python, of course, but not much else)

18 out of 20 users found the following review helpful.
Did this review help you?

herbwin says:
6117ac3765e2b5e447cee5236e2d84d2?&s=48&rating=pg&d=https%3a%2f%2fwww
 
Excellent version control  
5
 
written almost 7 years ago

I have used it quite a while now and I am very happy with it. I also recommend using TortoiseHg which is also easy to use and has a very nice GUI front-end to Mercurial!
If you have never used a distributed version control tool before, this is the one!
http://tortoisehg.sourceforge.net/

3 out of 4 users found the following review helpful.
Did this review help you?

...ieralski says:
838fc78d4a2c02b377b922aeec7083d8?&s=48&rating=pg&d=https%3a%2f%2fwww
 
Doesn't get in your way.  
5
 
written over 6 years ago

I just couldn't get used to using version control before I tired Mercurial -- it was just to much work to set everything up, configure, authenticate each time, etc.

With Mercurial, I can just start a project with a single command, and do all the setting up when I want to make my repository public.

2 out of 3 users found the following review helpful.
Did this review help you?

...sa Alves says:
02421d1103c3f1f42ab62b4fa40dec81?&s=48&rating=pg&d=https%3a%2f%2fwww
 
A good option to versioning control  
0
 
written about 6 years ago

Mercurial fills a gap caused by the learning curve that has been left aside by most version control systems. I started to use it just about 3 months reluctant cause some non positive experience with other VCS, but it exceeded my expectations. Easy to use, intuitive, and lightweight, in part because it does not necessarily run as a service on the machine.
Now I'm working in medium projects (web applications/CMS/ERP, etc), and in all of them I've choosen to use Mercurial as our primary VCS.

1 out of 1 users found the following review helpful.
Did this review help you?

erich says:
Bf5eeebc60637715c8e3b224a7affc9e?&s=48&rating=pg&d=https%3a%2f%2fwww
 
Mercurial  
0
 
written about 5 years ago

latest version of liked

Did this review help you?

morganv says:
D074b76b37ec2985ea06384a0d733966?&s=48&rating=pg&d=https%3a%2f%2fwww
 
Mercurial  
0
 
written about 5 years ago

very good and convenient system

Did this review help you?