987
I Use This!
Very High Activity

Ratings and Reviews

Analyzed 10 days ago. based on code collected 11 days ago.
Community Rating
4.64595
   

Average Rating:   4.6/5.0
Number of Ratings:   370
Number of Reviews:   6

My Review of Mercurial

You have not rated or reviewed this project.
Click below to rate/review.
My Rating:
0
 
 New Review

Most Helpful Reviews

ThomasWa... says:
E1455665609ecaadf76a1ad795e0ea36?&s=58&rating=pg&d=http%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
Best DVCS yet.  
5.0
 
written about 10 years ago

After having used CVS and GNU arch (tla) before, we switched to Mercurial about a year ago for MoinMoin development.

As well as tla has been a big step forward compared to CVS, Mercurial is another big step forward from tla.

We don't regret it, Mercurial works great:
* we never had serious trouble with it, we never lost data
* it is FAST (much faster than GNU arch)
* the commands are easy to remember and have sane defaults, so you get used to it fast
* it is well-designed
* it uses your disk space efficiently
* it doesn't need a central server, you can use version control on the road without internet connection
* it runs on Linux, Mac, Windows, ...
* it has a nice web interface built-in (you don't even need a separate web server)
* you can read its code (it is mostly Python! CLEAN python code, with a bit of C for better performance.)
* it has very few dependencies (well, it needs Python, of course, but not much else)

18 out of 20 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you? |

herbwin says:
6117ac3765e2b5e447cee5236e2d84d2?&s=58&rating=pg&d=http%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
Excellent version control  
5.0
 
written almost 9 years ago

I have used it quite a while now and I am very happy with it. I also recommend using TortoiseHg which is also easy to use and has a very nice GUI front-end to Mercurial!
If you have never used a distributed version control tool before, this is the one!
http://tortoisehg.sourceforge.net/

3 out of 4 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you? |

Radomir ... says:
838fc78d4a2c02b377b922aeec7083d8?&s=58&rating=pg&d=http%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
Doesn't get in your way.  
5.0
 
written over 8 years ago

I just couldn't get used to using version control before I tired Mercurial -- it was just to much work to set everything up, configure, authenticate each time, etc.

With Mercurial, I can just start a project with a single command, and do all the setting up when I want to make my repository public.

2 out of 3 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you? |

Isaque V... says:
02421d1103c3f1f42ab62b4fa40dec81?&s=58&rating=pg&d=http%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
A good option to versioning control  
0.0
 
written over 8 years ago

Mercurial fills a gap caused by the learning curve that has been left aside by most version control systems. I started to use it just about 3 months reluctant cause some non positive experience with other VCS, but it exceeded my expectations. Easy to use, intuitive, and lightweight, in part because it does not necessarily run as a service on the machine.
Now I'm working in medium projects (web applications/CMS/ERP, etc), and in all of them I've choosen to use Mercurial as our primary VCS.

1 out of 1 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you? |

erich says:
Bf5eeebc60637715c8e3b224a7affc9e?&s=58&rating=pg&d=http%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
Mercurial  
0.0
 
written over 7 years ago

latest version of liked

Did this review help you? |

Most Recent Reviews

morganv says:
D074b76b37ec2985ea06384a0d733966?&s=58&rating=pg&d=http%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
Mercurial  
0.0
 
written about 7 years ago

very good and convenient system

Did this review help you? |

erich says:
Bf5eeebc60637715c8e3b224a7affc9e?&s=58&rating=pg&d=http%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
Mercurial  
0.0
 
written over 7 years ago

latest version of liked

Did this review help you? |

Isaque V... says:
02421d1103c3f1f42ab62b4fa40dec81?&s=58&rating=pg&d=http%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
A good option to versioning control  
0.0
 
written over 8 years ago

Mercurial fills a gap caused by the learning curve that has been left aside by most version control systems. I started to use it just about 3 months reluctant cause some non positive experience with other VCS, but it exceeded my expectations. Easy to use, intuitive, and lightweight, in part because it does not necessarily run as a service on the machine.
Now I'm working in medium projects (web applications/CMS/ERP, etc), and in all of them I've choosen to use Mercurial as our primary VCS.

1 out of 1 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you? |

Radomir ... says:
838fc78d4a2c02b377b922aeec7083d8?&s=58&rating=pg&d=http%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
Doesn't get in your way.  
5.0
 
written over 8 years ago

I just couldn't get used to using version control before I tired Mercurial -- it was just to much work to set everything up, configure, authenticate each time, etc.

With Mercurial, I can just start a project with a single command, and do all the setting up when I want to make my repository public.

2 out of 3 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you? |

herbwin says:
6117ac3765e2b5e447cee5236e2d84d2?&s=58&rating=pg&d=http%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
Excellent version control  
5.0
 
written almost 9 years ago

I have used it quite a while now and I am very happy with it. I also recommend using TortoiseHg which is also easy to use and has a very nice GUI front-end to Mercurial!
If you have never used a distributed version control tool before, this is the one!
http://tortoisehg.sourceforge.net/

3 out of 4 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you? |

 See all reviews