Activity Not Available
I Use This!

Ratings and Reviews : Listing

dfoerster says:
994d9b05860cb347c459cfca095034e7?&s=58&rating=pg&d=http%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
Great for small scripts, failed to ...  
3.0
   
written almost 9 years ago

PHP is perfectly suited for small web development tasks, like to add some dynamic content to static pages without much overhead or setup.

The language is easy to learn and to handle, and can also be used to create command line scripts. (Instead of the more complicated Perl for example.)

However, PHP's history, evolving from a macro processor is still visible. While it supports OOP, the core of the language is not object oriented at all. And sadly, the developers let the major release PHP 5 pass without cleaning up the accumulated differently named functions with randomly ordered arguments.

18 out of 35 users found the following review helpful.
Did this review help you? |
theseoman says:
E1ce42fa0fe96a350db0cccf758c2b77?&s=58&rating=pg&d=http%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
Gave me opprotunites  
0.0
 
written almost 7 years ago

I am thankful to PHP as well.

1 out of 1 users found the following review helpful.
Did this review help you? |
qcd_price says:
C51ee114a0a03985ddf8b0297cb05242?&s=58&rating=pg&d=http%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
An excellent language to learn  
5.0
 
written over 3 years ago

We upgraded our website last year, and in doing so, moved to a combination of PHP and MySQL to power the site. We've found PHP to be an easy-to-grasp language.

1 out of 1 users found the following review helpful.
Did this review help you? |
bendeton77 says:
C67fe842ddd99c63026f7f6b045e0842?&s=58&rating=pg&d=http%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
I like it  
5.0
 
written about 3 years ago

Its free and good quality. I use it for self-study needs. This is my first choice for open source project back-end.

1 out of 1 users found the following review helpful.
Did this review help you? |
... Masters says:
150adfd6ec634840ac3563b62af7be5a?&s=58&rating=pg&d=http%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
Good for powering content  
4.0
   
written almost 8 years ago

PHP was my introduction to programming and I feel it is a good language for first-timers to learn. It needs understanding of HTML, which is an excellent starting point for any new programmer.

I agree with Rasmus's view that PHP is essentially a templating language as at it's most basic it generates HTML output. Unfortunately it's grown up as a spiderweb of libraries which has earned it a lot of criticism but these libraries are of good quality.

While it's loose typing and lack of order of it's functions may put off people used to .NET it's worth sticking with if you have time enough to learn your way around it.

4 out of 8 users found the following review helpful.
Did this review help you? |
erich says:
Bf5eeebc60637715c8e3b224a7affc9e?&s=58&rating=pg&d=http%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
Php  
0.0
 
written over 6 years ago

do not know what would I do without php

Did this review help you? |
Andrew Fenn says:
0cce8532aa3c2a03b1ca6dbfbd94e671?&s=58&rating=pg&d=http%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
Awesome programming language  
5.0
 
written about 9 years ago

Quite simply if PHP didn't exist I wouldn't have a job or maybe never have gotten into programming. Its a very easy language to use but difficult to master.

13 out of 28 users found the following review helpful.
Did this review help you? |
bakytn says:
168fab90c3dd931358f7e26306355727?&s=58&rating=pg&d=http%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
The PHP  
5.0
 
written about 9 years ago

The PHP always getting better. It is very simple and have some interesting features. No doubt, PHP is the best solution for the Web development. It was created by Web for the Web. And it is evolving as fast as Web.

4 out of 15 users found the following review helpful.
Did this review help you? |