I Use This!
Activity Not Available

Ratings and Reviews

Analyzed 9 months ago. based on code collected over 1 year ago.
Community Rating
4.45665
   

Average Rating:   4.5/5.0
Number of Ratings:   1211
Number of Reviews:   12

My Review of Ubuntu

You have not rated or reviewed this project.
Click below to rate/review.
My Rating:
0
 
 New Review

Most Helpful Reviews

acoliver says:
443185b198abe7dbf693f9d8a3501893?&s=58&rating=pg&d=http%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
The BEST Linux desktop  
4.0
   
written almost 11 years ago

I prefer Linux for my development platform. After using Mac OS X for awhile (lots of projectors, reconfiguring X inconvenient), when I switched back to primarily coding I needed my Linux back. I've always found Red Hat's packaging system to be pretty frustrating (although it has gotten better). I couldn't manage to get Fedora Core 5 installed on my MacBookPro (Core Duo) so I tried Ubuntu. There was a minor hiccup with the boot loader (which is more cause Apple is weird) but the community information made working around it a snap! Ubuntu leans a bit more towards the pragmatic side of the wider Linux community so chances are that your computer will be fully operational just by booting from the CD, you'll obviously want to install. Installing Ubuntu, Mozilla Firefox, OpenOffice and Mozilla Thunderbird produces a fully functional desktop. Obviously I'm bigger in to the development tools but this is the first Linux I'd dare suggest to an end user.

6 out of 9 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you? |

benpage26 says:
7a23f6e1e0837a7e10f2c1f0bf99eabc?&s=58&rating=pg&d=http%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
Awesome Community  
5.0
 
written almost 10 years ago

I use Ubuntu because of the awesome community behind it.

Ubuntu was easy to get started with as the live CD installed automatically, and while I installed it i was browsing the internet. :D

Also, if you are a tweaker like me, the possibilities are endless and the community is always there to help you out and give you advice.

3 out of 3 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you? |

daveshields says:
2d7530b84f24f4924e30aa787c8e5e62?&s=58&rating=pg&d=http%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
Our best chance yet to take Linu...  
0.0
 
written about 10 years ago

I have become an ardent fan of Ubuntu in the last few months. It is now, and will for some time to come, be the main topic of my blog posts.

I endorse Ubuntu because it has already established the strongest community around a Linux distribution that I have yet seen, and I've been working on open-source for close to a decade.

As part of that community I already have close to 70 beans, and hope to grow my pile even more.

Ubuntu is the best chance we open-source folks have yet had to truly take Linux to the mainstream.

Go for it!

2 out of 4 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you? |

zabelle_... says:
1a84b5178eb218e872c4dabed82b8a0e?&s=58&rating=pg&d=http%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
Why to choose Ubuntu ?  
5.0
 
written about 10 years ago

Because it has been developed for common people.

Because it is safe : no more mind about virus !

Because it is open source and free : let stop hacking !

Because it is popular : easily find help and documentation.

1 out of 2 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you? |

jester says:
C45a15acd57fe2158c53c096b7a4f032?&s=58&rating=pg&d=http%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
Linux Evolution  
5.0
 
written almost 10 years ago

Ubuntu is an amazing step forward in the evolution of Linux.

I began using linux in 1995 with slakware, and it was freedom! But after awhile, shuffling floppy disks became a nightmare, so when I found redhat 3.0.3 in 1996 with a distribution CD and with apackage manager it was a gift from heaven. But I noticed that remotely managing redhat machines was not as nice as I wanted. Then I discovered debian 2.0 in 1998 with the advanced package tool, APT, and I figured I would never leave debian.

For almost 8 years I was a die-hard, but sometimes frustrated, debian supporter. I loved the idea of an open source distribution and the Debian Social Contract, but I wished things would work out-of-the-box more often.

When I met Mark Shuttleworth in a DelhiLUG meeting he completely won me over as an Ubuntu experimenter, and now Ubuntu advocate.

Not only is Ubuntu awesome and the best chance Linux currently has for moving into the mainstream desktop world, the whole concept of Ubuntu making Linux for People is where I want to see the linux movement heading.

Did this review help you? |

Most Recent Reviews

Darrell Ulm says:
Cd9e7d107e7a47283e647492b7a8ccf4?&s=58&rating=pg&d=http%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
Ubuntu is well supported  
5.0
 
written 4 months ago

For most hardware, Ubuntu is well supported, fast and good for developers.

Did this review help you? |

Valentinas says:
0cd7ae192e6bf0fbdb1a999fc59b2e82?&s=58&rating=pg&d=http%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
1-st  
5.0
 
written about 4 years ago

Good!

Did this review help you? |

bendeton77 says:
C67fe842ddd99c63026f7f6b045e0842?&s=58&rating=pg&d=http%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
Its great  
4.0
   
written over 4 years ago

Its nice and its working... except few functions ;]

Did this review help you? |

Erfahrungen says:
Ed903856dba4006ef6d447d80e60104c?&s=58&rating=pg&d=http%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
New gui?  
4.0
   
written about 5 years ago

i don't like the new gui of ubuntu very much. thinking about switching to linux mint for now. but I had a good run with ubuntu for 3 years now on my netbook.

Did this review help you? |

Miguel A... says:
52ee465efed7cdd44a8e277b408d7206?&s=58&rating=pg&d=http%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
All what is expected in a contem...  
5.0
 
written almost 8 years ago

Ubuntu can be used on almost anything including Desktops, Business PC’s, Notebooks and many others that are able to support x86 CPU.

The desktop edition is very suitable for the common user and it has almost all the software required to work on it after the installation or the liveCD boot. The Netbook Remix put the netbooks in the next level. It has a inconvenient, seems that the Ubuntu people recently has taken the same aproach as Microsoft, taking all management tasks to GUI ones, not always comprensive and lacking documentation, sometimes against the Linux/POSIX flavor, this can turn Ubuntu into a Canonical support dependant OS, taking away from the Linux openess, and common way to solve things.

The Server Edition is very stable and has a good tunnig, it can be managed almost as Debian, but has some tricks and some "ubuntuized" commands which can complicate the server administration because the lack of documentation.

Did this review help you? |

 See all reviews