I Use This!
High Activity

Ratings and Reviews

Analyzed about 10 hours ago. based on code collected about 10 hours ago.
Community Rating
4.4975
   

Average Rating:   4.5/5.0
Number of Ratings:   400
Number of Reviews:   12

My Review of CakePHP

You have not rated or reviewed this project.
Click below to rate/review.
My Rating:
0
 
 New Review

Most Helpful Reviews

MSeven says:
8693731e8fc4c64f7fcba23a6e49617f?&s=58&rating=pg&d=https%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
CakePHP saves the Day  
4.0
   
written almost 12 years ago

A Year ago, our development structure was a mess.
Switching over to CakePHP massively improved out coding speed an quality, with minor training time.
No Framework is perfect, and CakePHP is still maturing, but overall it provided a very solid base for all the projects we have used it for, and pretty much every Programmer that was introduced to it continued using it on his own projects afterwards.

7 out of 10 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you? |

jeffreyw... says:
F51ceefe6080a8f87f1d51d48b8939cf?&s=58&rating=pg&d=https%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
Cake, Yum  
4.0
   
written about 11 years ago

Cake will make your php life easier. That said, like all OO php, the stack can be relatively heavy. So get familiar with a good opcache and some of the caching tools in cake (or memcache). IMHO go straight to 1.2 which is an RC2. Also take a look at the 'bakery' http://bakery.cakephp.org/ which will give a leg up with helpful components, etc. All in all cakephp is one of the best organized and executed php projects I've used.

4 out of 5 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you? |

teknoid says:
A41c91677c3442ff425906b854718d42?&s=58&rating=pg&d=https%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
CakePHP is a piece of Cake  
5.0
 
written over 10 years ago

If you are looking for a robust, flexible PHP framework to enhance your life as a developer, then really you should look no further.

As you might know, there isn't a single tool that can suffice for every single project, however if we were to imagine one... CakePHP would come as close as it is feasibly possible.

Yes, you should expect some learning curve, but given the great community behind the project the pain of learning can be easily reduced by the advice from developers (who are actually always in-touch with the users) as well as many, many seasoned cake-users.

I won't mention all the buzz-words that CakePHP covers, as that is something you'll learn in your first days of working with it.

A top-notch product, that has truly played a very important and positive influence in life as a developer.

2 out of 3 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you? |

luisgabr... says:
1c67c9ecc9e0d84f58a1dba0356f9a40?&s=58&rating=pg&d=https%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
Excellent framework  
5.0
 
written almost 11 years ago

You will reduce your programming time significantly, makes User authenticaiton and ACL a piece of cake.. I have been using it for less than a month and I love it.. once you try it you wont go back to writting your own php scripts..

1 out of 2 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you? |

mattrsmith says:
Bc748c8ae72f5f4e6874186d504ff1f3?&s=58&rating=pg&d=https%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
The future of PHP  
5.0
 
written over 10 years ago

I've been using cake for almost 1 and half years and found it to be best addition to my toolbox as a web developer. I wouldn't develop another php app without it. I've try a number of the other php MVC frameworks available and this is by far the best. I can quite comfortably say it is the most stable MVC-php framework with the recent 1.2 release and has a growing and active community essential for any Open Source projects success. The documentation is growing constantly and there is a healthy community of CakePHP bloggers that provide that little bit of extra knowledge when you can't find what you need in the docs.

CakePHP saved me from the horrid repetitive tasks of developing an app in php.

1 out of 2 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you? |

Most Recent Reviews

Darrell Ulm says:
Cd9e7d107e7a47283e647492b7a8ccf4?&s=58&rating=pg&d=https%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
CakePHP an interesting Framework  
4.0
   
written about 1 year ago

CakePHP is an interesting Framework. Have done some test projects and think it is a solid system.

Did this review help you? |

morganv says:
D074b76b37ec2985ea06384a0d733966?&s=58&rating=pg&d=https%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
CakePHP  
0.0
 
written about 9 years ago

good thing, thanks to developers

Did this review help you? |

Michel Jung says:
Ac6d9001445d7245c83757179a650cf1?&s=58&rating=pg&d=https%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
Sorry, no!  
2.0
   
written about 10 years ago

Sure, there are some good features in it, but over-all, every good programmer will find that CakePHP is just a ill-conceived hack job.

Maybe CakePHP will improve someday, but it had to be almost completely rewritten.

If someone likes to know more about what I have to criticize, feel free to ask.

1 out of 4 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you? |

patcoll says:
B289671dac2a82c40d00afbd17334aca?&s=58&rating=pg&d=https%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
CakePHP rocks  
4.0
   
written about 10 years ago

Cake is an excellent PHP4 compatible MVC framework with a very stable code base. The testing culture and extremely talented developers around the project is a huge reason why. I started using Cake 1.2 when it was in its infancy, and was able to keep pace very easily with 1.2 upgrades until its final release (and beyond) over a 2+ year period. This is a serious accomplishment in stable API software design.

That said, any serious development with CakePHP will involve becoming familiar with caching. Fortunately, the PHP language and the CakePHP framework make this integration easy.

I look forward to what the CakePHP team have in store with a PHP5-only compatible release. I expect only great things.

0 out of 1 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you? |

teknoid says:
A41c91677c3442ff425906b854718d42?&s=58&rating=pg&d=https%3a%2f%2fopenhub.net%2fanon80
CakePHP is a piece of Cake  
5.0
 
written over 10 years ago

If you are looking for a robust, flexible PHP framework to enhance your life as a developer, then really you should look no further.

As you might know, there isn't a single tool that can suffice for every single project, however if we were to imagine one... CakePHP would come as close as it is feasibly possible.

Yes, you should expect some learning curve, but given the great community behind the project the pain of learning can be easily reduced by the advice from developers (who are actually always in-touch with the users) as well as many, many seasoned cake-users.

I won't mention all the buzz-words that CakePHP covers, as that is something you'll learn in your first days of working with it.

A top-notch product, that has truly played a very important and positive influence in life as a developer.

2 out of 3 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you? |

 See all reviews