I Use This!
Activity Not Available

Ratings and Reviews

Analyzed about 1 year ago. based on code collected about 1 year ago.
Community Rating
4.27715
   

Average Rating:   4.3/5.0
Number of Ratings:   1851
Number of Reviews:   9

My Review of PHP

You have not rated or reviewed this project.
Click below to rate/review.
My Rating:
0
 
 New Review

Most Helpful Reviews

dfoerster says:
Great for small scripts, failed ...  
3.0
   
written about 15 years ago

PHP is perfectly suited for small web development tasks, like to add some dynamic content to static pages without much overhead or setup.

The language is easy to learn and to handle, and can also be used to create command line scripts. (Instead of the more complicated Perl for example.)

However, PHP's history, evolving from a macro processor is still visible. While it supports OOP, the core of the language is not object oriented at all. And sadly, the developers let the major release PHP 5 pass without cleaning up the accumulated differently named functions with randomly ordered arguments.

18 out of 35 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you? |

theseoman says:
Gave me opprotunites  
0.0
 
written about 13 years ago

I am thankful to PHP as well.

1 out of 1 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you? |

qcd_price says:
An excellent language to learn  
5.0
 
written almost 10 years ago

We upgraded our website last year, and in doing so, moved to a combination of PHP and MySQL to power the site. We've found PHP to be an easy-to-grasp language.

1 out of 1 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you? |

bendeton77 says:
I like it  
5.0
 
written over 9 years ago

Its free and good quality. I use it for self-study needs. This is my first choice for open source project back-end.

1 out of 1 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you? |

Ross Mas... says:
Good for powering content  
4.0
   
written about 14 years ago

PHP was my introduction to programming and I feel it is a good language for first-timers to learn. It needs understanding of HTML, which is an excellent starting point for any new programmer.

I agree with Rasmus's view that PHP is essentially a templating language as at it's most basic it generates HTML output. Unfortunately it's grown up as a spiderweb of libraries which has earned it a lot of criticism but these libraries are of good quality.

While it's loose typing and lack of order of it's functions may put off people used to .NET it's worth sticking with if you have time enough to learn your way around it.

4 out of 8 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you? |

Most Recent Reviews

drummyfish says:
PHP is good  
4.0
   
written almost 5 years ago

As an occasional web programmer I found PHP simple to use and useful. Nowadays it seems to be surpassed by other technologies, but I still think PHP is good enough for many projects, especially thanks to a wide support on servers and the many frameworks that have been created.

Did this review help you? |

bendeton77 says:
I like it  
5.0
 
written over 9 years ago

Its free and good quality. I use it for self-study needs. This is my first choice for open source project back-end.

1 out of 1 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you? |

qcd_price says:
An excellent language to learn  
5.0
 
written almost 10 years ago

We upgraded our website last year, and in doing so, moved to a combination of PHP and MySQL to power the site. We've found PHP to be an easy-to-grasp language.

1 out of 1 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you? |

erich says:
Php  
0.0
 
written over 12 years ago

do not know what would I do without php

Did this review help you? |

theseoman says:
Gave me opprotunites  
0.0
 
written about 13 years ago

I am thankful to PHP as well.

1 out of 1 users found the following review helpful.

Did this review help you? |

 See all reviews